History of ESM

More than twenty years ago novel was approached by Professor Leslie Klenerman to provide support for development of a user group meeting hosted by the University of Liverpool. The inaugural meeting began the following year in Liverpool at the Royal Infirmary Hospital.

At that time, we did not realize that over the years the ESM meeting would take us around the world from Liverpool to Vienna, Flagstaff, Ulm, Penn State, Brisbane, Munich, Calgary, Leeds, Spitzingsee, Dundee, Providence, Aalborg and Cambridge in 2014.

In 1991, the first novel award was presented in recognition of excellence in pressure distribution research. The novel award recipient was determined by an international review committee from the fields of biomechanics and medicine. The novel award for pressure distribution measurement research continued since then to be endowed by novel.

In 2010 the "novel award" was renamed the "art in science® Award". The prize will be awarded to scientists presenting papers not only associated with pedography or foot biomechanics, but for any research in the field of sensing body contact and dynamic load distribution.


The Most Promising Proposal (MPP) award was introduced during ESM 2012 in Aalborg and was very well received. This award is presented to the young investigator which presents a project proposal including the investigation of load distribution on the human or animal body.

The past ESM conferences have provided us with an opportunity to learn more about load distribution measurement applications and research. Meeting new and old friends and experiencing our hospitable host sites is also part of the tradition.

Next year we will be gathering in Lisbon, Portugal to continue the great traditions of ESM. We warmly invite past ESM attendees to share the unique histories of the meeting and invite first time participants to join the ESM family.

We hope to see everyone in Lisbon in July 2016!

Previous Winners of the novel award/art in science® award:

  • Cambridge 2014, Henriette Gaertner, Germany and Renzo Pozzo, Italy
  • Aalborg 2012, Karsten Engel, Germany and Roelof Waaijman, The Netherlands
  • Providence 2010, Josh Slane, USA
  • Dundee, 2008, Scott Wearing UK
  • Spitzingsee, 2006 Wolfgang Potthast Germany
  • Leeds, 2004, Joshua Burns Australia
  • Leeds, 2004, Mark Thomson Germany
  • Kananaskis, 2002, Katrina S. Maluf USA
  • Munich, 2000, Matthew Nurse Canada
  • Calgary, 1999, Brian Davis USA
  • Brisbane, 1998, Margret Hodge Australia
  • Tokyo, 1997, Erez Morag USA
  • Pennstate, 1996, Dieter Rosenbaum Germany
  • Ulm, 1994 Michael Morlock Germany
  • Vienna, 1991 Benno Nigg Canada


Sports Shoes | 【6月上旬発売予定】 ナイキ エアフットスケープ モーション 全4色 - スニーカーウォーズ
Last Updated: Friday, 25 September 2015 10:10